Introducing..

Marly Mathews 

Please give a warm welcome to author Marly Mathews! 
Here is the first part of my interview with Marly!  Check back tomorrow as Marly completes the sentences!
And keep reading to find out about a special giveaway! 

Please tell us about your books.
th_twilightskiss_wrp24_300.jpgMy books, let’s see.  Twilight’s Kiss is a vampire/faery romance set in the highlands of Scotland. My hero, Sean Sutherland is cursed to live his worst nightmare as a vampire, and my heroine Bridget Sinclair is the faerie princess sent to either slay him or save him…  

illbeyours.jpg

I’ll Be Yours by contrast is set during the regency period, it has no paranormal elements, though it is a swashbuckling high seas adventure. My heroine in that story is the gambler that can’t lose, and the hero is a down on his luck noble turned pirate.  

doorwaystars.jpgDoorway to the Stars which which has just been released from NCP is a futuristic where Alpha Males rule and so do Alpha Females. LOL 

The Witch and The Wolf is now up on the coming soon page at NCP and it’s a historical paranormal. Both the heroine and hero are spies working on opposite sides..or are they? You’ll have to read the book to find out. 🙂 

myladyknightofavalon_wrp303_300.jpgFinally, My Lady Knight of Avalon is coming soon from The Wild Rose Press, and this book is a fantasy time travel. The heroine is a witch and she also happens to be King Arthur’s daughter, the hero is a contemporary man thrust back into the age of Camelot where he finds his true calling.

What inspired your stories?
Several things have inspired all of my stories, it would take too long to list them all. Usually, something totally unrelated will jolt an idea in my head, and it will start snowballing from there until I just sit down at the computer and write it! I’m a panster, what can I say. LOL  

What is your favorite part of being a writer?
I can craft worlds that I hope will take on a life of their own, and completely whisk the reader away so that for the time they are reading the book, they have become a part of the hero and heroine’s world.   

Least favorite?
I don’t have a least favorite part. I embrace everything fully, writing proposals, editing and even writing synopses are all things I love doing…of course that love ranges in its intensity. LOL  

What do you hope readers get out of your books?
I hope they walk away with that dreamy feeling of just having read a book that gave them hope, made them laugh, and most of all made them believe in the wonder of true love.  

How long have you been a writer?
I’ve been a writer or storyteller for as long as I can remember. I’ve been writing seriously for publication for about ten years. I started young. LOL    

How many books have you written?
Contracted or written? I have five with New Concepts, I’ll Be Yours, and Doorway to the Stars are both available now, The Witch and The Wolf, Enchanted Beauty and Dragon’s Heart are all coming soon from NCP.  

sweet_revenge_wrp365_300-1.jpgFor The Wild Rose Press I have four stories released with them, and three others coming soon. Twilight’s Kiss, Sweet Revenge, The Long Thin Veil th_thelongthinveil_wrp80_300.jpgand The Promise are all currently available either in print or ebook form. Don’t forget to check out The Promise at The Wild Rose Press as it’s a Christmas Romance perfect for this time of the year.  

I have three other stories coming soon with The Wild Rose Press, My Lady Knight of Avalon which will be released first in ebook and six months later in print, and Do Or Die which will also be released first in ebook and then in print. I also will be writing the final installment in the Legacy of The Celtic Brooch series, my story will be for the faery rose line, and it’s tentatively titled, Journey’s End. 

As for how many books I’ve written, I currently have several other completed plus several WIP that are not contracted but will hopefully someday see the light of publication.  

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try? 
I think I’ve written books in a wide variety of sub genres so far..so that’s a tough question to answer. I let the story take me to the time, place and setting of the book, and that directly reflects on whether or not it will be historical, futuristic or fantasy. Some of my characters wouldn’t work in a historical, and some of my characters wouldn’t work in a fantasy or futuristic. It’s all in the way the character acts and behaves. 

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
NEVER GIVE UP!  

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Loving. Stubborn. Generous. 

What are some of your hobbies?
Hobbies? LOL I write whenever I can so my time is pretty limited. 

If you could save one book from destruction, what would it be?
One of mine. LOL Seriously, I have no idea. Only one book? That’s so unfair.  

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
Ha! I have no idea. Let’s see how about a DVD, one of my books, *Wink* a cell phone, and a cd. It would be interesting to see how antiquated these items would seem fifty years in the future. 

Any questions for readers?
I invite them to hop over to my website and shoot me an email telling me which coming soon book they are most looking forward to. 🙂 I had a reader recently ask me when Enchanted Beauty would be released, and I also have a reader eagerly anticipating My Lady Knight of Avalon, so it’s nice to hear from readers and hear their different tastes when it comes to my books. Enchanted Beauty and My Lady Knight of Avalon are both fantasies, except for one major difference. My Lady Knight of Avalon is set for the most part in our realm, Earth, and Enchanted Beauty is set entirely in a fairy tale land of my own creation. Readers can feel free to email me whenever they want. 🙂 

Readers, you can learn more about Marly at the following sites:
http://www.marlymathews.com/ 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/marlymathews/ 
http://www.marlymathews.blogspot.com/ 
http://www.myspace.com/marlymathews 
http://www.bebo.com/ladyknightstarr  

Also, Marly has generously donated prizes to two lucky winners!  One winner will receive a download of Doorway to the Stars, and another lucky winner will win a download of the Christmas romance, The Promise! 

doorwaystars.jpg              th_thepromise_wrp91_300.jpg

To enter all you have to do is comment on any of the blogs with Marly!  The two winners will be randomly drawn from all who comment and announced here on the blog December 26 so you have until then to comment! 

Readers remember to check back tomorrow for more with Marly!

20 Responses to Introducing..

  1. Eva S says:

    Hi Marly and Jennifer,
    someone who writes both historical and fantasy, wonderful! Just my kind of author!! New to me but I’d love to read some of your books, I have to hop over to your site and take a look…
    Where do you find all these great authors, Jennifer?

  2. Cara Carnes says:

    I loved Twilight’s Kiss, Marly. The way you wrapped the characters together was wonderful! I can’t wait to read Doorway to The Stars.

    Hugs,

    ~Cara

  3. Great interview!

    I just purchased Doorway to the Stars!

    Eva…Jennifer knows a lot of authors. She’s a sweetheart. 🙂

  4. fedora says:

    Hi, Marly! Thanks for the great interview–I’ll have to look for your work!
    Jennifer, thanks for the stream of introductions to fantastic authors–as if my TBR weren’t already big enough! 😉

  5. Hi Eva!
    Thank you so much for dropping by to read my interview! I hope you enjoy browsing my site! Sounds as if you’re my kind of reader! 😉

    Jennifer is such a doll for wanting to interview me! 🙂

    ~Marly

  6. Thank you so much Cara for the grand compliment on Twilight’s Kiss! I’m blushing! I’m so glad that you loved it! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Doorway to the Stars!

    Hugs,
    ~Marly

  7. Patti! Thank you! You’re a dear friend! I hope you enjoy Doorway to the Stars!

    ~Marly

  8. Fedora!
    My heroine in My Lady Knight of Avalon wears a fedora when she’s in our time. 😉

    Thank you for taking the time to read my interview, I”m so happy you enjoyed it!

    ~Marly

  9. fedora says:

    Hee! I’ll have to get that title if for no other reason! (I wasn’t named after the hat, but it’s occasionally helpful in explaining how to spell my name, etc.) And I do remember John Taylor (Duran Duran–remember them? ;)) and Indiana Jones wore them, too. 🙂

    Thanks, Marly, for taking the time to let us get to know you a little better!

  10. Dodo O says:

    I loved reading your interview. It was very interesting. I would love to read your books. Please count me in for the contest.

  11. Laura K says:

    Please count me in for the contest. I loved this interview.

  12. Indiana Jones. *sigh* Now Harrison Ford can wear a fedora and make it look even better! 🙂

    ~Marly

  13. Hi Dodo!
    Thanks for dropping by and reading my interview! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    ~Marly

  14. Hi Laura!

    Thanks for loving the interview! 🙂

    ~Marly

  15. cathy M says:

    Looks like I have some new books to add to my wish list.

  16. JSL says:

    Hi Marly and Jennifer

    Very interesting interview. Marly- I’ll have to find and read some of your books before my classes begin again. I’m especially interested in “I’ll Be Yours” 🙂

    Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

  17. kitty says:

    Merry Christmas! Thanks for the giveaway.

  18. Angela says:

    I would love to win one of the books!!

  19. Danielle says:

    Fantastic! Am I too late?
    dansan826 at yahoo dot com

Leave a Reply

