Jenna’s last day…

A Year (or Two) In the Life 

This time of year I always start sitting back and reflecting on what has happened and what I’ve done. And since today is my last day here, I felt like it kind of fit to do it here where you’re a captive audience that can’t escape… hey, don’t click away, come back!

 

2007 has been so busy and great! I started out the year with a historical romance release, DESIRE NEVER DIES. That book was the second in my Lady Spies series (think Charlie’s Angels, but in Regency England). The third followed in October with SEDUCTION IS FOREVER. And then in November my very first full-length erotic historical, EVERYTHING FORBIDDEN hit shelves under my Jess Michaels name.

 

Have a book out is sort of a strange experience for an author (or at least for me). It’s awesome because you get to see the fruits of all your labors finally come to harvest. Seeing the books on the shelves is so exciting to me every time. It’s also terrifying, because you basically spend a month worrying every day about how the book is doing. And it’s sort of awful, too, because there’s always one bad review and it seems like we authors need about twenty good ones to erase one bad one from our minds. I’m still working on that.

And for me, even while I had the books out, I was also racing around writing MORE books! You see, this year, I also sold two more historicals and two more erotic historicals. It’s funny how after the publisher pays you, they actually want a book. Shocking, I know. So I’ve been busy writing.

What am I writing, you ask? Well, here’s you 2008 sneak peek. First, in May 2008 (on shelves April 22), SOMETHING RECKLESS will be here. This is a Jess Michaels erotic romance which features characters from EVERYTHING FORBIDDEN. Here’s a quick blurb:

After witnessing a shocking scene and experiencing a disastrous marriage, somehow Penelope Norman has become a voice of those fighting against the shocking sensual excess of the Upper Ten Thousand. And Jeremy Vaughn, Duke of Kilgrath has just secretly been chosen to silence her.

The Duke believes he can seduce the pretty little hypocrite into ceasing her troubling talk… or at least put her in a position to blackmail her. So he pretends to be on her side by day in order to expose her to the erotic lifestyle he’s been leading, and by night he writes her erotic letters and visits her bed as a masked lover to school her in all the sinful activities she’s so afraid of. But the closer they become, the more Penelope wants both Jeremy and her mystery lover. And the more Jeremy begins to realize that the frustrating and utterly tempting Penelope has the upper hand in every game they’re playing. Especially the ones of the heart.

And then in July 2008, my next historical romance comes out. I’m so excited about LESSONS FROM A COURTESAN. See, I started out writing very dark, emotional, highly sensual historical romance. With the Lady Spies, I veered a little. The stories were a bit lighter (though I think they all have some pretty emotional roots). So this July 2008 book is a real return to my roots. If you liked SCANDALOUS, I hope you’ll like this one.

Blackmailed into a marriage five years ago, and forced by their overbearing families to consummate that union so it could never be legally questioned, Victoria and Justin Talbot have been more than happy to live apart ever since, although neither one has quite forgotten the one night they shared. But now Victoria has been forced to come to London in the disguise of London’s most talented and sought after courtesan. Invading Justin’s world, she is on a desperate search to find a missing friend and stay clear of her very angry, suddenly possessive husband. Only this time, one taste is not going to be enough for Justin. He is determined not only to uncover Victoria’s secrets, but to claim her, body and soul. 

So there is your sneak peek and your year in review of me! Tell me what the year 2007 was like for you! And what you’re looking forward to in 2008!

Thanks again for having me this week! It’s been a ball!

Thank you Jenna for being my guest!  I have really appreciated you being here this week!  I wish you much success and look forward to reading the upcoming books!

Readers, don’t forget that today is the last day to enter the giveaways for the week (see Sunday’s post)…winners will be announced tomorrow!

15 Responses to Jenna’s last day…

  1. Pam P says:

    Jenna, thanks for visiting, I’ve been busy but following along all week in Google Reader. Just starting on the second Lady Spy book, and definitely looking forward to more of Jess’s stories. Happy Holidays!

  2. Thank you all for having me! PamP, I hope you enjoy Anastasia’s book! And the rest. If anyone has any last pressing questions for me or things I missed, ask in comments today! 🙂

  3. Eva S says:

    Jenna , thanks for these days!
    I’ll be looking forward to your new books in next year.
    Happy Holidays!

  4. Melissa K. says:

    2007 was crappy for the most part. The only thing good that happened to me was I got married. I say this every year…I hope next year is better!
    Definitely looking forward to your new releases, JJ. *g*
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, everybody!!

  5. You guys, I just got the first look at the cover for LESSONS FROM A COURTESAN. I can’t share it yet, but let me just say:

    Best. Cover. EVER.

  6. Helen says:

    Jenna
    I have had a busy 2007 a new grandchild a little girl Hayley who was born in July and is sitting next to me at the moment in the bouncer while I type this. I have read some wonderful books this year all of yours and lots of others and I am really looking forward to your releases next year. I would really like to retire so as I can read more but alas that probably won’t happen so I will just have to make time to read.
    Thanks Jenna/Jess for the wonderful stories that you have given us and again thanks in advance for the ones that I will have to read in 2008.
    Have Fun
    Helen

  7. Jane says:

    I am eagerly awaiting the release of “Something Reckless.” Is it true that John and Arabella will be making an appearance in this book? They’re one of my favorite couples and I want to know what they’re up to. Is the cover for “Lessons From A Courtesan” steamy?

  8. Thanks so much Helen!! I hope you’ll enjoy the 2008 books! And congrats on the grandbaby.

    Jane, yes! John and Arabella will be appearing in SOMETHING RECKLESS. So will Miranda and Ethan from EVERYTHING FORBIDDEN! 🙂

  9. Teresa W. says:

    Enjoyed reading all your posts this week and hope you have a great Christmas!

  10. Rhonda Barnes says:

    Jenna,
    Happy holidays from a big fan!

    God Bless,
    Rhonda 🙂

  11. Aw, thanks you guys! I had so much fun with everyone here! And I’ll be back Monday as part of the Jaunty Quills interview!!

  12. fedora says:

    What a terrific week it’s been, Jenna! Just wanted to echo everyone’s thanks to you for spending the time this week to let us know you and your work better–it’s on my Christmas wishlist 🙂

    2007’s been busy (in a good way–I’ve got three little ones, so there’s always stuff going on), and I’m sure 2008 will not be different! I’ve really enjoyed learning about some new authors, and I hope I’ll have more time to read this coming year! 🙂

    Wishing you a great weekend, and a wonderful time celebrating this December, Jenna!

  13. Jennifer Y says:

    It has been a great week, Jenna! Thank you so much for being a guest!

  14. Lily says:

    Thank you Jenna for coming here… I loive your historicals 🙂

  15. Beth says:

    Well I’ve had re occuring kidney stones and I would really love for 2008 to be stone free

Leave a Reply

