Introducing…

Cara Carnes 

Cara Carnes first book, Warrior’s Paradise, releases this week and I am delighted to have her as a guest here.  I first met Cara during an online chat and I can’t remember the last time I laughed so much.  Since that first chat about a month ago I don’t think a week has gone by that we haven’t “talked to” each other in a chat at least once.  

When I discovered that Cara’s debut erotic romance, Warrior’s Paradise, was releasing this week, I invited her to be a guest here.  So for the next few days, I am happy to have Cara as my guest.  

For today, Cara kindly agreed to answer some questions for readers to help introduce herself and her work.

Cara also generously donated an e-book copy of her debut erotic romance to one lucky winner so keep reading to find out how you can enter for your chance to win. 

carawarriorsparadise.jpgPlease tell us about your book.
Warrior’s Paradise is the story of Shana and Lucian.  Shana grew up being told about a world that her adopted sister was from.  She never believed any of the stories, but found the tale about Paradise to be interesting.  It was a place where your wildest fantasies could come true.  Shana decides to test Paradise and see if it was real. 

She soon finds herself in a precarious position: being asked how she came to know of Paradise and at the mercy of a gorgeous warrior named Lucian.  Determined to protect her sister, she soon discovers the true meaning of Paradise and learns about the world she never believed existed. 

What inspired the story?
The idea initially presented itself to me quite a while ago.  But, the hectic pace of my everyday life prevented me from beginning to pursue my passion of writing.  When I decided to take the plunge and begin, it was the first thing I wrote. 

How does it feel to be a published author?
Wonderful.  It is a lot of hard work, and I really wish everyone could see the full picture of it all.  But I have loved every second of it, and look forward to many more years of it. 

If the book were made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?
Oh my.  I have no idea.  That is a really good question.  I am horrible with the names of actors and actresses…lol.  I would say Angelina Jolie for Shana…but she’d have to adjust her hair color a smidge.  Or Jessica Alba.

For the hero, I’d have to say someone like Vin Diesel or The Rock.  They’d have to grow a bit of hair though 🙂  

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
My favorite part is being able to share my passion of writing with not only my fellow authors, but the wonderful readers as well. 

My least favorite?  This is going to sound like a total copout, but it is so true.  I haven’t really found a part I don’t like yet because I am so new.  Everything is fun, because it is an adventure for me, something to experience for the very first time. 

What do you hope readers get out of your books?
Pleasure.  An escape.  I always love reading because I can forget about the stresses going on in my life.  If I can give that to someone else and leave a smile on their face or touch their heart in some way, I am happy. 

How long have you been a writer?  Have you always wanted to be a writer?
I have wanted to write from a very early age.  I didn’t actually start pursuing it and actively writing until this Spring.  

Who are some of your writing influences?
There are way too many to name.  I would do everyone a disservice if I attempted to.  I grew up reading everything from Harlequin to historical, and loved everything that I read.  I developed an appreciation for all the genres, and I believe that will help me in my writing. 

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Persistence pays off.  Never stop believing in yourself or pursuing your dreams.  

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Wow, that is hard.  I guess I would say determined, friendly and passionate. 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
Oh this is a fun question.  There are so many options.  I would probably put a computer, a VHS tape, a vinyl album, and a cassette tape in there.  That would be because there is no way anyone would believe they really existed and were that archaic…lol.  I’m sure we will be so technologically advanced 50 years from now.  Lastly, I would definitely put a bunch of romance books in there, just to make sure that love continues on in the future 🙂 

What is next for you?
I have quite a few works in process right now.  I am hoping to get Warrior’s Fire, the next book in the series, out to everyone soon. 

I have also been working on a couple of other series, both of which are futuristic science fiction erotic romances.  I love them so much, and I am very excited about getting them to readers to enjoy as well. 

Where can readers find you online?
My website is http://www.caracarnes.com/.  My blog is at caracarnes.blogspot.com.  And I just started up a yahoo group. It is at: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/caracarnes 

Any questions for readers?
What are you looking to read?  I am always interested in hearing what readers have to say about what should be out there…lol.

Most importantly, thank you to wonderful readers, such as Jennifer.  Without you, there would be no romance industry.  You are the breath, love and passion that keep it going.   

Thank you, Cara for that wonderful interview.  Your upcoming release sounds intriguing! 

As I mentioned above Cara kindly donated an e-book copy of Warrior’s Paradise for one lucky winner. 
To enter, all you have to do is leave a comment on any of the Cara Carnes posts over the next few days.   And unlike past contests where it is one entry household/person, I decided to do things differently and this time every comment you leave on one of the Cara Carnes posts counts as an entry.  So the more times you comment, the more entries you have.  However, you MUST BE at least 18 years of age!  By leaving a comment and entering you are stating that you are at least 18.  Warning: Book contains hot and explicit sex scenes! 
ONE winner will be chosen randomly and announced on Wednesday so please check back then to see if you won! 

So, how about answering Cara’s question for readers she mentioned above: “What are you looking to read?”  What kind of books do you think should be out there/published?

7 Responses to Introducing…

  1. Hey Cara and Jen!

    Great interview, ladies! Cara, I’m sending you all the best on your upcoming release! 🙂

    ~Marly

  2. fedora says:

    Thanks, Jen, for the introduction to a new author! And thanks for the terrific interview, Cara! As for what I’m looking to read, I’m always up for well-told stories, especially romances, but I wouldn’t rule out other types. I don’t know that there are genres or kinds that I’m looking for that I haven’t found yet; maybe that’s because I keep learning about new authors and books, and still have an enormous TBR pile already 🙂 Best wishes with your new release!

  3. Cara says:

    Thank you so much for having me on your blog, Jennifer. It is always such a delight to chat with you:)

    Hi Marly! Thanks for coming by and sending such warm wishes my way. You’re an amazing writer, and I can’t wait to read your next release:)

    Hi, Fedora! I know exactly what you mean about enormous TBR piles. Mine just seems to get bigger and bigger; but there are such wonderful books out there and I don’t want to miss anything spectacular. You know what what I mean I bet. Thanks!

    ~Cara

  4. cathy M says:

    Hi Cara, it’s always great to learn about a new author. I have pretty ecletic tastes, always depends on my mood. But I pretty much always have a paranormal story waiting around to be read. Still not tired of the genre yet.

  5. Great interview!

    Congrats on your debut release, Cara! I know there will be more.

  6. Cara says:

    Hi Cathy! It’s a pleasure to be here. I have a wide range of reading tastes as well. I think it helps keep the reading experience such a treasure. But I must confess that paranormal and sci-fi romance are my favorite. It is something about all of those worlds that I just love to read and get absorbed in. I don’t think I will ever tire from that escape.

    Hey Patti! Thanks!

  7. Eva S says:

    Thanks for a great interview! I’d love a movie with Vin Diesel and Jessica Alba..

    Paranormal books are my favorites, although some historicals can be found at the bottom of my TBR pile. And I’d be happy to find new genres and authors.

    Congrats Cara!

Leave a Reply

