Spotlight on…

This is my very first reader spotlight!!!  As a reader, I thought it would be fun to spotlight other readers.  It might give authors who check out the blog an idea of what readers enjoy and help you all meet other readers and possibly discover some new authors from those that share your reading interests. 

First up is…
Sandra Marlow (Sandy M) from CA
I first met Sandy through Sandy Blair’s Yahoo group and have enjoyed getting to know her.  It is great to find people who are as addicted to books as I am 😀 

Why do you love romances?   
First, the heroes!  And then, of course, the romance.  I just love going through all that hurt, agony, tragedy with the main characters and then have that happily-ever-after at the end.  And for me, the more alpha the hero, the better.  Especially when they fall and they fall hard!  I so enjoy seeing them realize they can love, they deserve to love and be loved and that the heroine loves them too.   

Do you remember the first romance book that you ever read? 
No, I don’t remember the first romance I ever read, but I know it had to be either Kathleen E. Woodiwiss, Victoria Holt, Bertrice Small, or Phyllis Whitney.  They were my four faves way back in the dark ages. 

What are some of your favorite genres of romance? 
I really like all genres of romance, but my favorite would be historical and paranormal, and even more so when the two are combined together. 

Do you read other genres other than romance? If so, what? 
I don’t read other genres as much as I used to, but I still enjoy a good legal thriller.  Like everyone, I went a through a John Grisham stage and still like his books I guess because of my profession — I’m a freelance court reporter.  I also enjoy Michael Connelly. 

Who are some of your favorite authors? 
LOL, do you have about five free pages for this list?!?  I’ll come up with a short list for you.  Nora Roberts, Karen Marie Moning, Catherine Anderson, Lynn Kurland, Linda Howard, Mary Jo Putney, Sandy Blair, Julia Quinn, C.L. Wilson, Kathryn Smith, Kresley Cole, Annette Blair, Christine Warren, Barbara Pierce, Sandra Brown, Iris Johansen and the list goes on and on and on…… 

What books are on your keeper shelf
OMG, that list is nearly as long as the previous one!  Definitely the backlist of Nora Roberts, Sandra Brown, Iris Johansen, and Linda Howard.  I read them for years before I really branched out to other authors.  But now I’ve included Karen Marie Moning’s books, Lynn Kurland, Sandy Blair, and pretty much all those listed before.  If I like an author, I’m going to like all their books, especially if they have a series of any kind.  Very seldom do I get rid of a book from those faves. 

If you could meet any author in person, who would it be? 
Wow, that’s a difficult question to answer.  First I would have to say Sandy Blair because she’s become a friend over the last couple of years.  Then it would have to be Karen Marie Moning and Linda Howard.   

What influences your reading choices?  Author, blurb, excerpts, cover, reviews, etc. 
All of the above!  LOL.  First would be author, of course.  However, I am a sucker for a really great cover.   Blurbs I don’t count on as much as I used to, so now I turn to reviews and recs from friends. 

Have you discovered any good “new-to-you authors” lately? 
I have!  C.L. Wilson is the best of the year for me as far as new authors; her new books Lord of the Fading Lands and Lady of Light and Shadows are simply terrific.  Barbara Pierce is an historical author who is new to me and I love her writing.  Also Christie Craig is a new contemp author for me — she dragged laughter out of me like very few authors are able to. 

What are you currently reading? 
Sinful Between the Sheets by Barbara Pierce.  I just finished Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night by Kresley Cole. (These questions were sent weeks ago…so knowing Sandy, I am sure she has finished these already…LOL) 

Where is your favorite place to read? 
Anywhere!  I have a book with me at all times and read whenever I have a chance, especially when I work.  I sometimes spend a lot of time just waiting when the attorneys are trying to settle a case.  But I’d have to say my patio during spring and late fall is my favorite of all. 

When you aren’t reading, what else do you do for fun? 
I love rummaging through thrift shops!  You never know what you’ll find.  I also do reviews and author interviews for HistoricalRomanceClub.com and reviews for The Good, The Bad, The Unread at TGTBTU.com.  And I’m addicted to Paint Shop Pro and Incredimail, so I’m on the computer a lot. 

You recently started making book trailers, can you tell us more? 
Yes, I have!  It was really just a fluke thing.  Sandy Blair asked me I made trailers and at first I told her no, but then I thought why not?  So I found a program, learned about royalty-free music and photos, and just dug right in.  I did make a trailer for Sandy for her newest release in October, A Highlander for Christmas, and it’s on her website at SandyBlair.net, if anyone would like to check it out.  I’m also creating website banners and have made one for Sandy and C.L. Wilson.  And have started creating book covers as well.  I’ve started a website that’s still being worked on, http://www.freewebs.Com/phoenixvideotrailersandbanners.  I’m hoping to have it finished soon, but do stop by and take a look at what’s there so far! 

Thank you Sandy for the interview!

Readers, if you are interested in being spotlighted, contact me using the addy in the sidebar!
Because readers are important too!!!

Oh, and today one lucky commenter will receive some author promo goodies so comment below for your chance to win. 
Just answer one of the questions above that Sandy answered.
Winner will be announced on Wednesday!

9 Responses to Spotlight on…

  1. Dev says:

    Fun interview!

    My favorite authors are Nora Roberts, Linda Howard, Julia Quinn, Debbie Macomber, Barbara Delinsky and Lisa Kleypas. I used to love Sandra Brown until she made the move to suspense; Lori Copeland was another of my auto buy authors until she switched to inspirational romance ~ Something in her writing changed and it just wasn’t the same.

  2. ruth says:

    I enjoyed this interesting interview. I read romance, mystery and historical romance. My favorite authors are Deborah Crombie, Kate Austin, and Jacqueline Winspear.

  3. Lois says:

    Cool! 🙂

    Hmm. . . well, I’m on the second book of Anne Gracie’s Perfect series (the first three are rereads and the fourth I’ll finally be reading, once I get to it of course!) 🙂

    And I’m more of a blurb person. . . obviously if it’s a particular author, I’ll probably be getting that book, but other than autobuys, it’s what the book is about. I’ll read reviews, but they very rarely ever sway me (unless they talk more about a book than the short blurb) and the only time I ever buy because of a cover is if I’m in a bookstore and can pick up something not on my list, and I see someone dressed with a cravat or empire gown. . . since I’m a huge Regency fan. LOL 🙂

    Lois

  4. Jane says:

    I saw the trailer for “A Highland for Christmas.” It was great. The first romance I ever read was Julie Garwood’s “The Bride.” It still remains as one of my favorites of all time.

  5. Sandy M says:

    Thanks so much, Jennifer!

    I had to laugh at your comment on the book I’m reading now question, and, yes, I have finished both of those books! I also reviewed both of them for The Good, The Bad, the Unread. And I’m extra excited because the review for the Cole book was picked up by both Reuters and USA Today and other smaller publications across the country!

    Jane, thank you for the comment on the Highlander for Christmas trailer. That’s the one that got me hooked!

    Sandy M

  6. fedora says:

    How neat, Jennifer! And very neat to learn more about you, Sandy!

    I love the romance and the HEA, too! And to enjoy it without the actual heartbreak 😉

    I have Nora Roberts and Julia Quinn on my keeper list, too, along with a lot of Debbie Macomber, Lisa Kleypas, Jennifer Crusie, Sarah Mayberry, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Marilyn Pappano, and Suzanne Brockmann. I read mostly contemporaries until fairly recently, so I’m still working through Kleypas and Quinn’s backlist, and other historical writers.

  7. Teresa W. says:

    Some of my favorite authors are as follows: Sherrilyn Kenyon, Christine Feehan, Colleen Gleason, Denise Skeleton, Dean Koontz, Stephen King and Sue Grafton. You can probably tell that I’m an avid reader of all genres.

  8. Laura J says:

    Hi Sandy!

    I love your reviews on TGTBTU. You have helped add to my wishlist and TBR!

    My keepers are books signed by the authors (or authors I will be meeting in the near future) and I have quite a few signed ones now. Mary Janice Davidson, LuAnn McLane, Toni Blake, Janice Maynard, just to name a few (and since I’m out of town right now, my memory is just a little fuzzy). I hope to someday meet Charlaine Harris and get my Southern Vampire series signed.

  9. janedoe2006 says:

    maggie shayne., my first paranormal author i found, even though i wasnt looking

Leave a Reply

