Introducing…

Jennifer Estep 

jennifer_estep_2.jpg

I was thrilled with author Jennifer Estep agreed to answer a few questions for us about her books, writing, and more… 

Please tell us about your book(s).
I write the Bigtime superhero series. The books are basically paranormal romances set in Bigtime, N.Y., a fictional city full of superheroes, ubervillains, and lots of single, sassy gals looking for love.           

karma_girlfinal.jpgThe first book in the series is Karma Girl, which came out in May. It’s about an investigative reporter who exposes the secret identities of superheroes – until she falls for one. 

My latest release is Hot Mama, which was released Nov. 6. Hot Mama focuses on Fiona Fine, a fashion designer by day and a superhero named Fiera by night. Fiona lost her fiancé a year ago and is determined to get back in the dating game, with the help of sexy playboy Johnny Bulluci. But with two new ubervillains in town, Fiona’s love life just might crash and burn … 

What inspired the story?
I’ve always loved superheroes, but I always wondered why Lois Lane never figures out that Clark Kent is really Superman. I started wondering what would happen if she did – and decided to expose his secret identity. That was the basis for my first book, Karma Girl. 

With Hot Mama, I wanted to look at superheroes from a different point of view than the first book. hot_mama.jpgFiona’s been a superhero since she was a teenager, and I wanted to look at it from the perspective of someone who’s been around the block several times. Sort of a wry, insider’s viewpoint about the good things and bad things that come with being a superhero. 

What do you hope readers get out of your books?
Lots of smiles and laughs. When I read, I want to be entertained and that’s the way I write. So many books are dark and serious these days. Mine are just zany fun, and I hope they bring some humor to readers. 

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
My favorite part is hearing from readers who’ve enjoyed my books. Getting an e-mail or talking to someone at a book signing or conference who’s read and liked my books always makes my day. There’s nothing better. 

The least favorite part is probably all the waiting. The publishing world moves at its own slow, steady pace, and you’re always waiting on something, from contracts to cover art to reviews. I basically write to keep myself sane while I’m waiting on other things to happen. 

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try?
Oh, yes! There are so many books I want to write. I have ideas for several more paranormals. I also want to write a romantic comedy. A romantic suspense. A heist book. A thriller. Maybe even a young adult story. The list is endless …   

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
 “Never give up, never surrender!” That quote from the movie Galaxy Quest is one of my favorites. A lot of people give up in this business. They stop writing, stop submitting. But I believe if you work long and hard enough it will eventually happen for you. It took me seven manuscripts and about seven years to sell. So, keep writing, keep submitting. Never give up on your dream. 

What is next for you?
My third Bigtime book, Jinx, will be released in September 2008. The first two books, Karma Girl and Hot Mama, will be re-released in mass market paperback format in July and August 2008. I’m really excited about the back-to-back-to-back releases. 

I’ve also turned in a new book to my agent called Live & Let Spy. It’s an urban fantasy about a Druid who’s forced to become a spy to stop a ring of magical terrorists. Think James Bond meets Harry Dresden. 

And I’m working on another urban fantasy called A Song of Ice & Stone. It’s a gritty, Southern story about an assassin named Gin. 

Where can readers find you online?
Folks can visit my Web site at www.jenniferestep.com, where they can check out my blog, learn more about me and my books, and sign up for my monthly newsletter. 

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Sassy. Sarcastic. Southern. 

What do you like to read?
Just about everything. Obviously, I read lots of romance. I’m also a big fantasy reader. Thrillers, mysteries, spy books … I’ll pick up just about anything. Some of my favorite authors are Robin McKinley, Donald Westlake, and Ian Fleming. 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
Hmm. This is a toughie. I’d say copies of my books to remind myself of my achievements. Photos of family and friends so we can all see how young we once were. Maybe a list of things I wanted to see and do before I die, so I could see if I did any of them! 

If you could be any superhero, who would it be and why?
Definitely Wonder Woman. She’s my favorite. The Lasso of Truth. The bullet-deflecting bracelets. That great tiara. The Invisible Jet. She has it all! 

Thanks Jennifer for that great interview!
Your books sound like a lot of fun!

Readers you can find out more about Jennifer and her books by visiting her website:  http://www.jenniferestep.com/ 

So readers, have any questions for Jennifer?
Hmm…and now that I think about it, which superhero would you all like to be?

5 Responses to Introducing…

  1. Jane says:

    Hi Jennifer,
    I just read an excerpt of “Hot Mama” in this month’s Cosmo, my only complaint was that the excerpt was too short. I’m also a big superhero fan. I love comics. If I could, I would like to be Jean Grey of the X-Men because then I would be telepathic.

  2. Hi, Jane. Cool! Glad you enjoyed the excerpt. If you want more, you can go to my Web site and read the first chapter online. 🙂

    Jean Gray is pretty cool. But I have to say that Wonder Woman will always be my favorite.

  3. danette says:

    Hi Jennifer,

    You’ve got me excited thinking about Live & Let Spy,James Bond meets Harry sounds like it going to be a lot of fun.

    I’m a big Heroes fan and I think I would be Peter if I could, it would be interesting being able to absorb others power.

    Hugs, Danette

  4. Angie-la says:

    Hey Jennifer E!!
    I won a copy of ‘Hot Mama’ in your blog contest and it came yesterday. YAY!! Guess what I am going to reading this (long) weekend?
    ‘A Song of Ice & Stone’, I will definitely check out. I’m a big fan of emotionally tortured assassins. Have you read Barry Eisler’s John Rain series? Is is something along those lines?

    I love your 3 word description of yourself. That describes most of my friends (and me!) 😛

  5. Hi, Danette. Live & Let Spy is a lot of fun. At least, it was for me to write. Peter’s power would be cool to have. I also think Nathan’s would be cool … Actually, all the HEROES powers would be awesome!

    Hi, Angie-la. Yes, I remember your name. I hope you enjoy HOT MAMA! 🙂

    Actually, I sat next to Barry at a book signing in October. Very nice guy. I got him to sign RAIN FALL for me. I finished it a few weeks ago. I enjoyed it a lot. I have the next RAIN book in my TBR pile!

    My assassin is a little more sarcastic than John Rain. And she’s not quite so tortured. But it’s an urban fantasy, so being an assassin is more accepted (at least in my world).

Leave a Reply

