Spotlight on…

Sarah McCarty 

I am thrilled to welcome author Sarah McCarty to my blog! 
I first discovered Sarah through her Promises series (Promises Linger, Promise Keep, Promises Prevail)…a wonderful western erotic romance series featuring some sexy Alpha heroes with touching stories. 

Her latest release is Caine’s Reckoning from Harlequin’s SPICE line…WOW, look at that cover!  cainescover.jpg

Caine Allen is a hardened Texas Ranger, definitely not the marrying kind. But when he rescues a kidnapped woman and returns her to town, the preacher calls in a favor. One Caine’s honor won’t let him refuse.  

From the moment he beds Desi, Caine knows turmoil will follow. Desi might have the face of a temptress, but she also has a will of iron and while she needs his protection, she’s determined that no man will control her again. They establish an uneasy bond, but it still isn’t enough for Caine. He wants all Desi has to offer. He wants her screams, her moans, her demands…everything. Yet there’s still a bounty on Desi’s head and keeping her satisfied is proving easier than keeping her alive. 

Sarah graciously agreed to answer a few questions for my blog so here is her wonderful interview… 

Please tell us about your book.
My first NY Western Historical series released from SPICE November 1, 2007. It’s a super-hot, fast-paced romance with a strong heroine, a hero to die for, and a happily ever after that will touch your heart. Like my Promise series, Hell’s Eight probably is not what a reader thinks of  when they think Western Historical, but each of these stories is a slice of life rich with emotion, spiced with passion, and filled with moments I hope will make your heart twist. The men of Hell’s Eight are unpredictable and fascinating. They’re definitely a law unto themselves, as wild as the West in which they live. Determined, and single-minded, they’ve planned for every contingency that could complicate their goals except for the one they never saw coming: the extraordinary women that will capture their hearts.

What inspired the story? 
The opening scene came to me in a dream and it just built from there.

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
My least favorite part of being a writer is the initial creation. I think of that as a purge and it’s frustrating because I know it’s nothing like the final product will be.  Editing is my favorite part of writing.  Editing is where the art comes in, where the ordinary takes on depth and breadth. 

How long have you been a writer?  Have you always wanted to be a writer?
I’ve been writing for 20 years.  It started out as a “could I do this?” curiosity and developed   to a full time passion. While I always wrote extra reports and such as a child, it didn’t occur to me until I was 16 that fiction was writing too. <G>
 
How many books have you written?
12 to date,  6 of which are out in print.  The rest are in line for their release dates. More pending. I have 11 books coming out between now and the fall of 2009.
 

What do you hope readers get out of your books?
I really hope they get a book that tugs on their emotions, that has characters they can identify with, and moments that linger in their hearts.

Who are some of your writing influences?
Zane Grey.  Penelope Williamson. Catherine Anderson. Julie Garwood.

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Persistence.  This is a horribly tough business, but if you persevere long enough, you will succeed. 

Describe a typical day for you.
I get up around 4 am. That’s not a typo, just my normal internal clock. <G>  I then lets the dogs out (I have six) give my diabetic cat his insulin shot,  make coffee, and boot the computer. I answer emails.  And then I usually go for a walk. I dictate while I walk the dogs.  I get the kids off to school and then I transcribe what I dictated and write. Pretty much, I write every day.  If I’m fostering, (I do animal rescue) I’ll work rehabbing whatever issue my foster dog has between writing bouts.

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Social, determined, honest

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
Pictures of my children because they’re special. A picture of my husband because he’s one of the good ones, one of a kind and in my opinion, the perfect Alpha. All the photos of my fosters that survived because they symbolize the hope for all those without hope. The photos of the ones that didn’t because even the majority of their lives as neglected and abused  castoffs,  they had value, they were loved and they deserve to be remembered. And three powerful words that represents seriously under utilized concepts in human interactions.  Peace. Tolerance. Hope.

What is next for you?
I’ve got a busy writing schedule for the next year fulfilling the contracts I have to date. I am taking time off to go to Lori Fosters and Dianne Castell’s get together in June 2008, however.  Always a great time.  I’m not sure what I’m going to be writing after that. I like to wait and see what tempts my muse.

Where can readers find you online?
I’m always on my yahoo chat group (I like to chat) on the Eharlequin SPICE Forum and through email.  If I don’t respond to an email in 24 hours, it means I didn’t get it and please resend. I love to hear from readers.

Thank you so much Sarah for that wonderful interview!!!
I am eagerly anticipating each of your upcoming books!!!

Readers, you can find out more about Sarah and her books on her website: http://www.sarahmccarty.com/ 

So, have any of you ever read one of Sarah’s hot books? 
Do you like western historicals? 
What about Alpha heroes?

11 Responses to Spotlight on…

  1. Angie-la says:

    What a great interview! I especially liked that Sarah is into fostering dogs. I have 4 dachshunds, one of which is a rescue dog.

    Sarah is one of those authors that I keep meaning to read, but haven’t yet. I am sure that I’ll soon add her to the TBR pile! I do so love me some Alpha heroes! 😛
    I really do like historical westerns..some of my favorites are Julie Garwood, Diane Whiteside, and Jan Kenney. BTW, Jan’s mom just passed away 😦 , if anyone would like to leave her a message of condolence they can do so at either writemindedblog . com or her personal blog.
    ( I hope it was ok to post this here, Jennifer)

    Angie

  2. Dev says:

    My first Sarah McCarty book was Caine’s Reckoning and I was hooked. I’m now about halfway through the Promises series and then will start on Mac’s Law. I recommend Sarah’s books to anybody ~ her stories touch on just about every emotion you have and are a great reading experience.

  3. Jennifer Y says:

    Angie-la: That was fine to post. I heard about it the other night…Jan is a fave of mine and I have already left my condolences. Links to the blogs are in my sidebar.

    Dev: I haven’t read Mac’s Law…you’ll have to let me know how good it is!

  4. Jane says:

    I haven’t read any of Sara’s books. I also haven’t read many western historicals. Alpha males are the best.

  5. cathy M says:

    I’ve read all her books and loved ’em. The Promises series is definitely a favorite, great stories about love and survival in the old west. And her alpha heroes are to die for. I auto buy all her stories and can’t wait for 08 to roll around so I can get started on her new releases.

  6. Hi all,

    Jennifer invited me to stop in. *hauling self up on a stool* Is it the cocktail hour yet? *G* I was sitting on my couch this morning admiring the snow, when a truck pulls into my driveway. It’s the people coming to replace the windows in my house. It would have been nice had they informed me that they chose today as the date. I was nowhere near ready, (With six dogs I need to be ready) but did I let them escape? HECK NO! Actually grabbed the guys arm when he said he could come back another day. (LIke I’d see them again. Pfft! So It’s been a little hectic today but now I have new windows!!!! I REALLY needed them because the windows I have are like the little ones they put in those old aluminum tag along trailers. They did nothing to keep out the elements. Iced over in winters, dripped condensation like a river in the summer. YUK!

    I did feel sorry for the guys because the weather here was lousy. Tomorrow they put in my patio doors and I’m done with the window people. More than you wanted to know eh?

    Thanks so much for all the kind words. These series are books of my heart, so seeing how much you are enjoying them just makes my day.

  7. Jennifer Y says:

    Thanks for stopping in Sarah! And hey, it’s five o’clock somewhere! So it’s always cocktail hour! LOL

    As you can tell, people love your books!

  8. Amy S. says:

    Great interview! I loved Caine’s Reckoning! Can’t wait to read Sam’s Creed!

  9. fedora says:

    Sarah, I haven’t had the pleasure of reading one of your books yet, but I keep hearing rave reviews, and will be putting your books on my list of ones to look for! I do enjoy western historicals and alpha heroes–mmm… Thanks for taking the time to do such an interesting interview! (Thanks for lining up all the great guests, Jennifer!)

  10. HI Amy , thanks so much for the kind words. I had a ball writing Sam’s Creed. Hopefully you’ll have a ball reading it.

    Fedora- *waving* Nice to meet you. If you do take the plunge, I hope you enjoy.

    Jennifer- Thanks so much for having me as a guest!

  11. Generally I do not post comments on websites, but I would just like to say that this post really has forced me to do so! Thanks for your insightful post.

Leave a Reply

