Question of the Week

Okay, so I had been thinking of asking this for a while now, but this week really made me curious…

I was blog-hopping (as I sometimes do) and checking out various Thursday Thirteens when I stumbled across Kelly McCrady’s list regarding first lines.  Then later that same night I was at a chat and the authors were telling about thier books and sharing the first lines of the books.

I admit to being fascinated by first lines…why? I don’t know.  But first lines intrigue me…some are funny, some are intense, some are beautiful, some are scary, etc. 

I have seen discussions about the importance of a first line and contests for the best/worst first line.   To be honest, other than being curious about them, first lines are not all that important to me as a reader…I am more interested in the whole story rather than the part when I am reading a book.

So does a first line make or break a story for me?  NO 

Will I stop reading if I don’t like the first line? NO 

But I do admit that a good first line can make me want to know even more about a story.

However, sometimes I (and other readers) need more than the first line to capture my interest and an author will try to hook us by using a paragraph or two at the beginning of the story…

But today I am curious about first lines…

So my question of the week is:
What is the first line of the book you are currently reading?
Remember to tell us the book and author as well to give credit to the author!

 Here are the first lines from the books I am currently reading (see sidebar):

“Brandon sensed the Grandfather coming before he ever appeared in the doorway; like the way the electrical charge from an encroaching storm would shiver through his form, Brandon felt the hairs along the nape of his neck raise, and he knew.” – Sara Reinke’s Dark Thirst

“Desiree Gill didn’t recall how she’d gotten there, seated in a dark corner, across a small round table from one of the most famous men in the world.” -Susan Sizemore’s “Tempting Fate” in Moon Fever

“Sean Sutherland pulled his hood up to cover his head.” -Marly Mathew’s Twilight’s Kiss

11 Responses to Question of the Week

  1. cathy M says:

    “Crista Jansen stared at the bed and the man sprawled across it in horror as she stumbled back, the knowledge of the mistake she had made the night before pounding through her head like the strike of a tambourine.”- Lora Leigh’s, Nauti Nights

  2. Jennifer Y says:

    Cathy M: That is a good first line…definitely makes me want to know more. I haven’t gotten that book yet.

  3. Crystal says:

    “Any questions?” chief prosecutor Janet McNeil asked the insolent young man slouched across from her.” -In Plain Sight by Tara Taylor Quinn.

    Nothing really exciting about that one. LOL!

  4. Jennifer Y says:

    Crystal: That one is intriguing in its own way…makes you wonder what they are talking about…and who they are.

  5. Lois says:

    “good heavens, Henry, you’re still in your drawers!” 🙂

    And that would be Too Scandalous to Wed, Alexandra Benedict 🙂

    Lois

  6. Heidi Betts says:

    I love first lines, especially when they’re snappy or sexy or intriguing. The one from the Lora Leigh book definitely qualifies, imo. 🙂

    What do you think of this one from the book I’m working on now…that would be The Book That Shall Not Be Named, which will be coming out with St. Martin’s Press in early 2009…

    He wished she didn’t have such a terrific ass.

    I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I came up with that line first and knew I had to use it, so I built the entire opening scene around it. Thankfully, it worked out well. *g*

    Heidi
    *~*~*
    http://www.HeidiBetts.com
    http://www.HeidiBetts.com/WIPsandChains
    http://www.MySpace.com/HeidiBetts
    http://www.Shelfari.com/HeidiBetts

  7. Jennifer Y says:

    Heidi: LOL…LOVE IT!!! Definitely intrigues me…who is he talking about? Why does he wish that? etc.

    Great first lines are the ones that make you ask questions and read beyond that line.

    Don’t be embarrassed! I think it is neat that you built the scene around the line. I often wonder if authors give any thought to their first line or if they are more focused on the scene as a whole.

    And you know, it is not fun to tease me about The Book That Shall Not Be Named! LOL

  8. Jennifer Y says:

    Lois: LOL…I love that one!

  9. Sara Reinke says:

    Hee hee — I love first lines, too. I was just talking about this with some of my author pals, about how I try to make first lines “hook” a reader.

    How about this one — the first line from my WIP, “Dark Hunger,” the sequel to “Dark Thirst” —

    Rene Morin pressed the barrel of the Sig Sauer P228 nine-millimeter pistol against his right temple and looked down at the cell phone in his hand.

    Sara
    http://www.sarareinke.com

  10. Jane says:

    “THE SICK AND DEPRAVED HAD VOTED: death by stabbing.” That’s from “Fear No Evil” by Allison Brennan.

  11. Jennifer Y says:

    Sara: Oooh…that is a good one…can’t wait to read that book!

    Jane: Very intriguing line!

Leave a Reply

