Introducing…

Dana Marton 

I want to give a warm welcome to author Dana Marton who graciously agreed to answer some questions about her books and writing. 

sc.jpgPlease tell us about your books.
I write action/adventure and thriller type romantic suspense for Harlequin Intrigue. I love tortured, super Alpha heroes and heroines who can hold their own. 

Tell us more about your recent mini-series.
My MISSION: REDEMPTION mini-series is a Charlies’ Angels/Dirty Dozen type of story. Four women in federal prison get a chance to erase their past in exchange for “volunteering” for a dangerous mission that needs their special skills. They all have their private agendas, of course, and a healthy disdain for the men they are paired with. But soon they find that this time, they might have met their match. 

What inspired the books? 
I wanted to write about women who were not the girl next door. About grittier characters who’d made a mistake or two in life. I wanted to explore the idea that you can start over. 

Which of your characters is most like you?
I’m not at all like my heroines. (Sadly.) My heroines are feisty and brave and often undercover super spies. I’m a wimp on the other hand. Parachuting? Rappelling down tall buildings? No thank you. I’ll live the danger through my characters. 

Describe a typical day for you.   
Write from 8 to 12. Break for lunch and house cleaning 🙂 Do promotion and email and other business related things for the rest of the afternoon. I definitely do my best work first thing in the morning. I could never be one of those writers who write at night. 

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
Favorite: The readers!!! Plus, being able to use my imagination without limit. Not having to answer to a boss. Being in charge of my own time. All the other books I get to read as “research.” 🙂  Least favorite: nothing. I LOVE being a writer. 

How long have you been a writer?   
Age 7. I started with poetry before graduating to novels. 

How many books have you written?  
About two dozen. I sold 15 of them so far. 

What do you hope readers get out of your books? 
I hope they will be entertained. Our lives are so fast and so full of demands. If I can give someone a two-hour break and can leave her entertained, that is what I’d like to accomplish.  

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try? 
I love romantic fantasy and would love to publish one some day. 

What would you like to tell aspiring writers? 
Never give up! It  took me 12-13 years to get published. SHADOW SOLDIER, my first published novel, was my 5th completed manuscript. And keep improving your craft. Writers’ conferences and RWA are wonderful for beginners and advanced writers alike. 

Describe yourself in 3 words. 
Tenacious. Introvert. Imaginative. 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
My books! And all my rejection letters, lol.  

What is next for you? 
I have a January release, SHEIK SEDUCTION. It’s a passionate, intrigue-filled tale about an unlikely couple who find true love in the midst of danger.
  

Thank you Dana for the wonderful interview! 

Readers you can find out more about Dana and her books by visiting her websites:
www.danamarton.com
www.myspace.com/danamarton

2 Responses to Introducing…

  1. Dana Marton says:

    Thank you so much, Jennifer for the interview and for this fabulous site!!!
    Dana

  2. Jacki King says:

    Darn, I was hoping one of the best things about being a writer was personal selection of all the cover models (and a private viewing…wakka wakka)!

    Great interview, Dana. I’ve loved your stuff since the very first reading I heard you give!

    –Jacki–

Leave a Reply

