The party is winding down…

Well, as we near the end of our party and things start to quiet down a bit (yeah, right!  The band is still on stage…) I thought I’d ask Kathy and Erin a bit about working together, the creation of The Impalers, and more about the wonderful band I have grown slightly attached to…I may never let them leave…

kathy-and-erin.jpgHow did you two meet? 
Erin McCarthy: Kathy introduced herself to me at the RWA conference in NY in 2003.  Then we bonded on the dance floor at RT. 🙂 
Kathy Love: I actually don’t remember introducing myself in NY, because that was my first Romance Writers of America conference, and I was a nervous wreck.   But I do remember dancing at RT.  From there, we began chatting on the phone quite often.  Then I contacted Erin about going to Heather Graham’s Writers for New Orleans conference, and that was when we really realized how much we had in common.   We’ve been tight since then.  🙂 

Where did the idea for The Impalers come from?
KL:  It came from the fact that Erin and I both love music, and we were writing similar types of stories with our vampires.   We actually came up with the idea while checking out the live music along Bourbon Street.  We started talking about how cool it would be for vampires to be “hiding out in the open” as a band.   The perfect gig for vampires, right?  Work at night?  Plenty of women around to bite?  Their dead already, so lack of health benefits is no problem.  And as we plotted, The Impalers just came into existence.   Well, with the help of real musicians we met on Bourbon too.  Their participation took the idea to another level. 

Is it difficult to collaborate on the project?   
EM: Not at all.  We spend so much time talking and completely understand each other that it’s easy and fun to work on The Impalers together.   And I’m pretty sure I can no longer function on a daily basis without Kathy. LOL.
KL:  Same here, Erin is my sounding board on story ideas, plot problems, life in general.   LOL.  We love working on the identities and stories of The Impalers.   This project gives us so much freedom just to have fun.  And hopefully entertain.  

How did you get a real band to portray the vampire band? vampires_everywhere11.jpg
EM: We asked.  That was it.  They were amazingly cooperative about the whole thing.  

What role does the real life band play in promoting and handling the project?
KL:  Well, they are The Impalers when they are onstage–that’s their main way of promoting this for us.   Their first official appearance was at this year’s Heather Graham conference in September, and they were a big hit.  Also we do work with Sonny Kane (the lead singer and the alter-ego of Ren D’Antoni) in coming up with more ideas to get The Impalers better known and out there.  In fact, Sonny recorded a CD for me as The Impalers–I’ll have that at RT. 

What is your favorite part of creating The Impalers?  Least favorite?  
EM: My favorite part has been working with Kathy and the boys.  Least favorite has been how long we’ve had to wait to see our stories featuring The Impalers hit the shelves.   I have very little patience when I’m excited about a project. 
KL:  Yes, I love working with Erin and the guys.  We are having so much fun with all of this.   And I agree, waiting for the books to be released is hard. 

With The Impalers and their alter-egos you have blurred the lines between reality and fantasy.   Is it easy to lose yourselves in the fictional worlds you create?
KL:  We definitely want to make those lines hazy for the readers.  We want them to come see The Impalers and get lost in the fantasy of seeing “real” vampires up on that stage playing for them.  But we also work hard to make sure the guys get credit for who they really are, too.   They are all working musicians–and we want to build a bigger fan base for them, outside of their Impaler personas.  We hope it benefits all of us, reaching more readers and more music fans.  

How has the response from the reading and music communities been since the creation of The Impalers?  
KL:  Readers have seemed to love the idea.   We try to keep The Impaler website as fresh as we can, adding new stuff regularly.   And the site is just going to get more and more active.  Erin and I are writing a free online serial, Drake: Tales of a Lusty Pirate.    We have The Impalers blog.  The Impalers will be doing guest interviews with guest authors.  We are trying to really reach our readers and keep it fun. As far as the music community, that’s harder for us to tell.  I know Sonny has mentioned some feedback.   And I think that will just grow and grow. 

Do you have a favorite Impaler?
EM: Drake makes me laugh, and David Foster has hidden depths.
KL:  Erin and I both like Drake a lot.  He’s fun to write.   And I’m partial to Ren, because he was the first of the band I had a clear picture of in my head.  And I wrote his story first. 

Which Impaler would you like to have as a roommate?
EM: Vittorio, because he would vacuum.
KL:  Hey, if Vittorio vacuums, I’m taking him too.  Although Ren plays a mean sonata. 

Describe each Impaler with one word.img_0284_1.jpg
EM:
Ren- Self-absorbed
Drake- Lusty
Johnny- Smiley
David- Quiet
Wyatt- Misinformed
Vittorio- Sensitive
 
KL:  
Ren- Charming
Drake- Dangerous
Johnny- Chatty
Dave- Serious
Wyatt- Deluded
Vittorio- Compassionate

In addition to the upcoming books featuring the band are there any plans for more stories featuring the band members as leads? 
KL:  We hope so! 

I hope you all enjoyed learning more about the band and will check out the books featuring The Impalers!
From Erin McCarthy:
SUCKER BET, January 2008
FIRST BLOOD, June 2008 

From Kathy Love:
MY SISTER IS A WEREWOLF, July 2007
ANY WAY YOU WANT IT, January 2008
Title to Be Determined, September 2008 

Erin and Kathy also want to remind readers to be sure to read Drake’s FREE online serial at The Impalers website, www.vampireband.com 

Thank you so much Kathy, Erin, Sonny, and The Impalers for taking the time to be my guests this week!  I have had a blast!  You all rock…literally!!! 

So readers, have you enjoyed the party? What did you think of my crazy idea to party with a fictional band on a blog?  Have I lost my mind?  

Hmmm…on second thought, don’t answer that last one 🙂

Remember to comment below for a chance to win a Party Favor Pack from me complete with Halloween goodies, a plastic Goth-tini glass, and author promo items!  Details can be found here.  Also, don’t forget to enter the Get Impaled! Scavenger Hunt found on Sunday’s post!  Today is the last day to enter!  Winners will be announced tomorrow!!!

22 Responses to The party is winding down…

  1. Kim says:

    Thanks for taking time out and putting this all together, Jennifer. I enjoyed reading all the posts.

  2. Amy S. says:

    Great interview!

  3. Cheryl S. says:

    I really enjoyed it, Jennifer. Thanks for all your hard work to entertain us!
    And thanks to Erin, Kathy and the Impalers for hanging with us all week!

  4. Crystal B. says:

    Great interview. I have enjoyed the party. A lot of fun. 🙂

  5. Wendy says:

    Jennifer, I did enjoy this whole week! It was a fantastic idea. 😀

  6. Angie-la says:

    Ah, Jennifer! This was so much fun. Thanks for hosting it.
    The fantasy is what makes it so amusing, so no I certainly
    would not say you were crazy for doing it!! 😛
    I enjoyed all the interviews and the introduction to the Impalers.

    Party on!! 🙂

  7. pearl says:

    Wonderful interview. I enjoyed this week’s party. Thanks.

  8. Zara says:

    Jennifer,

    I almost missed the party, aargh! I went back to read everything. You really did a great job pulling all of this together!

    Big hugs, Zara

  9. Emma says:

    Thanks Jennifer I enjoyed this week’s party. It was a fantastic idea. I enjoyed reading all the posts.

  10. ThatBrunette says:

    Great interview!

    Okay, I’ve never been a big fan of vamps. I don’t dislike them, they just aren’t my thing. This interview made me want to read more about the Impalers. I love how the authors turned a night of clubbing into a book. What a great creation story! Thanks, Jennifer for highlighting these authors and their creations!

  11. Melissa K. says:

    I really need a plastic Goth-tini glass to drink my blo..soda. Yea, soda. It’s been fun, Jennifer. Thank you. I might be able to make it to RT this year. I’d love to meet The Impalers! Thanks for flying in, Kathy and Erin. I have a button that says: BITE THE ONE YOU LOVE. It’s one of my favorite pastimes…I mean sayings. *g*

  12. danette says:

    Invite me anytime to your parties Jennifer, I enjoyed reading your blog 🙂

    Awesome guests!

  13. cathy M says:

    Your blog entries were a kick to read.

  14. Rhonda Barnes says:

    I’ve loved reading all about The Impalers and Erin and Kathy. It’s been a fun and interesting week!

    Rhonda 🙂

  15. Cherie J says:

    Great party Jennifer! I had lots of fun!

  16. Lily says:

    Great Party… Thanks!

  17. Nathalie says:

    A fictional band on a blog… that was super original 🙂

  18. tami says:

    had a great time here, reading
    thankyou all

  19. Kathy Love says:

    I’m so glad everyone has enjoyed the concept of The Impalers. It’s been a really fun and creative thing to do, and Erin and I have many more plans for the vampire guys. And I know Sonny has also enjoyed bringing them to “undeath.”

    Thank you so much for coming by all week and checking out all our books and the boys in the band. And a special thanks to you, Jennifer. You did a great job, and the concept of the blog party was such a fun one.

    Make sure you all swing by and chat with the boys at The Impalers site. They love the company.
    🙂
    Kathy

  20. Wow, great week here, Jennifer! Thanks for bringing us Erin, Kathy and the Impalers!

  21. Great celebration, Jennifer! 🙂

    ~Marly

  22. Cara says:

    What a wonderful feature on the Impalers! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

