Still partying hard…

So y’all still here?  Not bailing on me yet are ya? 

Today I am THRILLED to have a very special guest! 

While the band is taking a short break here at our blog party, I thought I’d try to get one of the real-life AKA living band members to talk to me… 

So I proudly introduce…

Sonny Kane!!!!! 

Sonny Kane was born in McComb, Mississippi, and joined his first band at the age of 17. Skilled on guitar, bass, vocals and keyboard, he has played in circuit clubs from Key West to Anchorage, Alaska. Currently working in New Orleans as a freelance musician, he’s building his new band, The Sonny Kane Project, and recording his own material. Pivotal in assisting authors Kathy Love and Erin McCarthy in the creation of the fictional vampire band, The Impalers, Sonny’s alter ego, Ren D’Antoni, will be featured as the hero in Kathy’s early 2008 release. 

Tell us a little about yourself. 
I’m a musician, not just a singer.  I play a guitar and bass, and I can play the drums quite well.  I was an avid martial artist, teaching for 4 years and founding my own system of martial arts.  I have an amazing 6 month old son who was aptly named Sonny Kane (Deuce).  

kathy-and-sonny.jpgHow did you meet Kathy and Erin? 
I met Kathy and Erin playing on Bourbon Street.  Kathy was looking for a face to match the hero of her new book.  I was lucky enough to look like what she wanted. 

How did you agree to help them with The Impalers?
This was a great idea, and I had no problem with helping.  I found players that I thought would fit what Kathy and Erin needed and they were happy with all of the decisions.  They let me run with all of my ideas and used what they thought were the best ones, elaborating and editing to what you see now with The Impalers.  They are the easiest people to work with.  They will still tell you if they want something a certain way, but have no problem with listening to your advice.  

What is it like to work with Kathy and Erin?
In one word FUN.  They take you into an incredible world of fantasy where you can be a kid again.  Playing music, being a vampire, what else can I say? (Me: Sounds wonderful)  

How long have you played music? 
I started playing guitar when I was 12, playing professionally when I was 15, on the road and for a living when I was 16.  I was 18 when I started singing, and the rest is a blur.  I’ve also done quite a bit of studio work.   While recording I would lay down scratch tracks of drums and bass to give the drummer and bass player an idea of what I was looking for, and some of these tracks became keepers.  I have no delusions.  For a professional recording, I will bring in a professional drummer, and if I have my players with me (Alan and Andrew) I will use them.  But, I could still cut a whole CD on my own.  Vocals, guitars, bass, drums, and keyboard (piano, string lines, etc).  

Who are your musical influences? 
I am a huge Journey fan.  One of the songs I recorded for Kathy was Any Way You Want It.  Dream Theater, Queensryche, James Taylor, STYX, Boston, Bon Jovi, Guns n’ Roses, Jim Croce, etc.  I loved the 80’s and anything with good production and a big theatrical sound.  

How does it feel to be a hero in a romance novel? 
It feels great to add to your resume “character model for romance novelist”.  And it’s a huge ego boost.  I’m hoping that my resume will include “cover model for romance novelist” sometime in the near future **crossing my fingers**.  There is nothing like it to shave enough years off of your life to make you feel like a kid again.  

How would you describe Kathy in one word?  And Erin in one word?
They have been so good to me.  I could not possibly describe either of them with just one word.   (Me: Awwww….) 

What would be the best trait of being a “real” vampire? 
The time you’d have to master skill.  Being a martial artist, you have to master your body and how to control it, but at a certain point you begin to have to make up for loss in physical attributes with experience.  What if those physical attributes never declined?  You would continue to gain experience without slowing down, physically or mentally.  You could play guitar for 100 years without ever getting arthritis.  Physical attributes plus experience.  

Do you have a favorite book by both Kathy and Erin?
Any Way You Want It, although I might be biased because it’s got me in it.  And Erin, probably Bled Dry.  They’re all great, from both authors. 

Where can readers see The Impalers perform? 
You’ll have to visit The Impalers website to keep up with that.  I think we are doing the RT conference in Pittsburgh this April, but I don’t know for sure on the dates yet.  

Where can they see your band perform?  
The Sonny Kane Project is now playing Utopia, on Bourbon Street in New Orleans 5 nights a week.  We are available for festivals, private parties, and any other bookings.   

Kathy mentioned that you recorded a CD, how can readers get one?
Kathy has the CD now.  I think she is doing some promotional giveaways with trivia questions on her website.  She will also have the CD with her at the Romantic Times conference in Pittsburgh.  I am looking to add a couple of songs to it before then, but my schedule has not allowed me to get back in the studio for awhile.  

Where can readers find out more information about you and your band? 
You can get all of the current Sonny Kane Project info at www.myspace.com/thesonnykaneproject  Thank you for your interest and we hope to see everyone at the shows soon.  

Well, I am going to let Sonny AKA Ren get back to the other Impalers so they can take the stage again (man, these undead guys have stamina 😉 ), but before he goes I want to thank him profusely for the interview.  I really appreciate you taking the time to help out a plain ol’ reader like me!  You Rock, Sonny!

Readers, don’t forget to look for Kathy Love’s upcoming release, Any Way You Want It, for Ren D’Antoni’s story! 
And visit The Impalers website and The Sonny Kane Project’s MySpace for footage of Sonny in action!  He is very talented!!!!
 

You know, thinking about Sonny’s answers regarding his vampire alter-ego, made me wonder, would any of you like to have an alter-ego?  Who or what would it be?  Anyone want to be a vampire? 

Remember to comment below for a chance to win a Party Favor Pack from me complete with Halloween goodies, a plastic Goth-tini glass, and author promo items!  Details can be found here.  Also, don’t forget to enter the Get Impaled! Scavenger Hunt found on Sunday’s post!

19 Responses to Still partying hard…

  1. tami says:

    if we was to beg, would you turn us to ;-]
    cant wait to get the impaler cd!

  2. Wendy says:

    I would make a kickass vampiress, lol. Or a zombie – brainnnns, gimme BRAAAIIIINNNNSSSSS! lol! So kidding.

    I can’t wait to get the CD either.

  3. Melissa K. says:

    Hey Sonny, nice to meet you. I wish I could play drums. I’ve played clarinet for years and I played it in a punk band (New Love Theory) in Orlando in the 80’s. Good times.
    I was teaching myself the flute but gave up. Hmmm…think I’ll start again.
    I’d really like to hear the Impalers CD. An undead show would be fantastic too. *g*
    I’d like to be a vampire. BITE THE ONE YOU LOVE!

  4. LOL… love the comment Bite The One You Love. 🙂

    And I love what Sonny said about the advantage of immortality… the idea of gaining skill and experience without losing your physical strength is what I think makes vampires such sexy romance heroes.

    Kathy and I have had a blast working with Sonny and the other guys on this project and we’re hoping to do many more future events with them. We’ll keep you all posted. 😀

  5. danette says:

    Hi Sonny,thanks for sharing a little bit about yourself,I like reading about the background of characters. I’m looking forward to reading Ren’s book.
    Hugs, Danette

  6. Angie-la says:

    Ok, I loved the part where Sonny admitted to liking James Taylor and Jim Croce!
    They are 2 of my favorites also…which surprises anyone who looks at my CDs because I am a die-hard blues and rock n rock chick, through and through!
    I’d love to hear the Impalers. 😛

    I took this quiz thingy that rates your likelihood of becoming a vampire, and my score was such that I was in the ‘reluctant’ category! If I had to cope I could, but I’d rather not have to do the blood drinking thing…..LOL!!
    I’d rather be an immortal like the Highlander. I don’t think I could give up the things that most vampire lore stipulates, like sunshine and daylight!

  7. pearl says:

    Great to read all this background info. Thanks.

  8. Kathy Love says:

    Hi All!

    I have to pipe in and add that Sonny has really embraced this idea from the start, and he’s liked the idea of who his character is. All the guys have done well with that. And it’s been so much fun to do all this.

    AND if you are attending RT in Pittsburgh, you will be able to meet Sonny and the other Impalers, because they will be playing Cheyenne McCray’s fairy ball AND Heather Graham’s vampire ball.

    It’s going to be fun!
    🙂

  9. Jennifer Y says:

    Thanks everyone for stopping by today!

    Kathy, I just love the idea of using a real band to portray the vampire band. Sonny sounds like he is really cool and helpful.

    Aww…wish I could go to RT! I would love to meet the band and see you too!

  10. Marjie says:

    Hope you all had a great Halloween. I did some face painting at a trunk or treat event. Lots of kids and lots of fun. I dress up as a vampire almost every year but I had to loose the teeth this year couldn’t scare the kids. I loved Sonny Kane AKA Ren D’Antoni interview. He sounds like a nice guy even though he has been dead since 1815. Yeah, he was letting his charm shine feelin like a kid again after all these years. Take Care until tomorrow, bye.

  11. Jennifer Y says:

    I am glad y’all are enjoying the party and the interview with the real live Sonny Kane and I hope you all support him and The Sonny Kane Project…they are talented people!

  12. Cherie J says:

    Thanks for another great interview Jennifer. Great to get this background info. Don’t think I would like being a vanpire but a powerful sorceress would be cool.

  13. Cheryl S. says:

    Awesome interview, Jennifer! Really enjoyed it. Thanks!
    I agree on the advantage of gaining skill and experience without aging – kinda like “Time in a Bottle”, huh? lol.

  14. Sonny Kane says:

    I had fun with the interview. If you ever need anymore info on the band, the real musicians, or anything else, feel free to contact me. And thank you for all of the chances you gave me to shamelessly promote myself. It’s hard to get a music career off the ground, and I’ll take every chance I can get.

  15. Jennifer Y says:

    Thank you so much Sonny! I was thrilled you agreed! Best of luck in all that you do! I wish you much success!

  16. Julia says:

    I actually had the opportunity to see “The Impalers” live in New Orleans and they ROCK!!! Seriously, if you get the chance to go to RT this year, do it. Sonny is such a great guy(and really hot!), and I know how much work has gone into all of this from both the band and Kathy and Erin.

  17. Crystal B. says:

    Great interview. 🙂

  18. Zara says:

    I enjoyed the interview, Jennifer! Thanks to Sonny for doing it! 🙂

    Hmm, an alterego? Well right now, I’d like to have an alterego that has a housekeeper. Unfortunately, I’m off to do it myself lol.

  19. cathy M says:

    Oh yeah, I like the idea of a kick ass sorceress.

Leave a Reply

