We’re still partying…

You all having fun yet? 

The party is getting good and this time I dragged Kathy off the dance floor today to answer some questions…man, those authors sure know how to have a good time… 

Please tell us about your latest release. 
My latest release is My Sister Is A Werewolf, which was released in July 2007.  It’s about Elizabeth siswere.gifYoung, the last sibling of my “Fangs” series.   She’s a werewolf with a slight problem.  She’s in heat.  And her hero is Jensen Adler, a mortal veterinarian. This book also introduces the readers to The Impalers.  

The reissue of Fangs For The Memories also just came out last month.  That is the first in the “Fangs” series, featuring Rhys Young, a vampire with amnesia.  

What inspired the story?
Well, I’d already written the first three of the Young siblings, Rhys in Fangs For The Memories, Christian in Fangs But No Fangs and Sebastian in I Only Have Fangs For You.   It just seemed natural Elizabeth would get her own story.  Although unlike her brothers, who are all vampires, she appeared in my mind as a werewolf.   It’s so like her to mix it up on me.  🙂 

How was it making the transition from contemporaries to paranormals?  Or had you always planned to write a paranormal? 
I actually made the transition the other way.  I know that sounds weird since my first published books were contemporaries, but I was actually writing my vampires first.   They just didn’t sell first. (Me:  Well, I am glad you didn’t give up on them…I am sure there are many out there who feel the same way) 

Can you tell us more about the paranormals you have written? 
I’ve written the vampire brothers, which I listed above.  And Elizabeth.   I’m currently working on paranormals set in New Orleans, based around the vampire band, The Impalers.   They are humorous but emotional too. (Me: A nice combo!) 

Any other genre you would like to write? 
I’d really like to try out historicals.   I’m an avid reader of historical romance.   It’s what I mainly read, so I’d love to attempt one.  I’d also like to go darker within the paranormal genre.  Erin‘s new series has really encouraged me to look at that side of my writing too.  

What do you hope readers get out of your books? 
I hope I entertain.  I hope that the emotion I’m feeling about my characters translates to the page, thus translates to the reader.   I want my stories to be fun and emotional with characters you can truly like and want to know more about.     

What is your favorite part of writing the paranormals?  Least favorite?  
I love the freedom of writing fantastical characters.  I also love placing paranormal creatures into this world and seeing how they adapt.   I guess what I like least is tying together all the loose ends at the end of the book.  And that isn’t really my least favorite part, it’s just the hardest.  

Any plans to return to contemporaries? 
I’d love to go back to contemporaries, but as of right now, I’m not sure when or if I’ll be doing that.   Hopefully. 

So, what is a typical day in the life of the glamorous Kathy Love like?
Oh, geez.  I get my daughter up and ready for school.  We debate what she’s going to wear for a good ten minutes–she’s five and a fashion victim already.   Once she’s out the door, after debating what she’s taking for lunch, I try to force myself to work out.  Sometimes that works, sometimes that doesn’t.   Then I write.  I actually leave my house to write, because I’m terrible about letting other things distract me at home.   So I write in Starbucks a lot.  Then I talked to Erin.  We rarely miss a day without at least one chat.   Then Emily (my fashion and food connoisseur) arrives home and we do family stuff.  Then I usually try to write some more after she’s asleep.   Not glamorous in the least. (Me:  Sure it is…sounds a lot more fun than my life!) 

How long have you been a writer? 
I started writing stories to entertain my friends in junior high.  I wrote a lot with my dear friend, Julie Cohen, who is also an author now, writing for Mills and Boon and Little Black Dress.   I then stopped writing through most of my twenties, only to decide it was truly what I wanted to do.  I sold my first book in September of 2002.  

How many books have you written? 
I’ve written nine books and one novella.  I’m in awe of Erin. (Me:  I think we all are…but you are no slouch either!!) 

What advice would you give to aspiring writers? 
I agree with Erin, read!  A lot.  And write.   Don’t just think about writing, do it!  And submit!  And keep submitting.  I also know I wouldn’t be published without my local chapter of Romance Writers of America.   They provided me with the info I needed to get my manuscripts polished and to the right editors. 

anyway.gifWhat is next for you? 
Any Way You Want It, the first of the Bourbon Street vampires will be out in January 2008.  This book features Ren D’Antoni, the lead singer of The Impalers.   Although he wasn’t always in a cover band.  He was once a classical composer on the cusp of great fame.  He was fun to write. 🙂   (Me:  Ooooh, I can’t wait to read this one!) 

When Kathy isn’t tearing up the dance floor and indulging crazy…err…devoted fans like me with blog parties, she can be found online at the following websites…check them out for more info on Kathy and her fabulous books!
www.readkathylove.com
www.myspace.com/readkathylove
www.vampireband.com
 

I’ll let Kathy go back to partying, but tell me, readers, have you read one of her books?  If not, visit her site and tell me one that catches your eye? 

Remember to comment below for a chance to win a Party Favor Pack from me complete with Halloween goodies, a plastic Goth-tini glass, and author promo items!  Details can be found here.  Also, don’t forget to enter the Get Impaled! Scavenger Hunt found on Sunday’s post!

23 Responses to We’re still partying…

  1. Cheryl S. says:

    I’ve read Wanting What You Get, one of her earlier books. I really want to try one of her paranormal stories soon though.

  2. Wendy says:

    Hi Kathy! I can’t wait to read Any Way You Want It – it sounds so good! 🙂

  3. MelissaK says:

    “Fangs For The Memories” was awesome! I really enjoyed it.

  4. pearl says:

    I would love to read wanting what you get. Looks wonderful.

  5. Crystal B. says:

    Any Way You Want It sounds awesome. Can’t wait to read it. 🙂

  6. Angie-la says:

    I have read several of Kathy’s books and I love her writing. I have read ‘Getting Want You Want’, ‘Wanting What You Get’, ‘Wanting Something More’ and ‘The Night Before Christmas.’
    I haven’t tried her paranormals yet, though!
    Angie

  7. danette says:

    Hi Kathy,
    You’re fangs series is so much fun to read, I look forward to reading each one. I can’t wait to see what you have in store for Ren. 😀
    Hugs, Danette

  8. Crystal G says:

    Fangs For The Memories is a great book!

  9. tami says:

    i love kathys books!! hre vampire books keeps me laughing. and ilike the titles, i like chatting wit kath and the impalers, here while back

  10. Teresa W. says:

    She is a new author for me and would love to read about the vamps!

  11. Kathy Love says:

    Hi Everyone!

    Thank you so much for stopping by! And all your kind words about my books. I’ve loved writing both the paranormals and the contemporaries. It’s definitely a great way to make a living–getting to tell stories all day. 🙂

  12. Jennifer Y says:

    Cheryl S: I haven’t read that one yet…hope you enjoy the paranormals.

    Wendy, Crystal B., Danette,: Thanks for coming! Doesn’t it sound great?

    MelissaK, Angie-la Crystal G.: Thanks for coming to the party!

    Pearl: Hmmm…you are the second one to mention that one…need to find it myself I guess.

    Tami: I love Kathy’s books too!

    Teresa W: I hope you get to try one soon!

    Kathy!!! Thanks for stopping by! This party is fun (at least for me 🙂 )…Keep cranking out those great books!

  13. cathy M says:

    I am a newbie, and they all look good. Fangs for the Memories sounds like it would be a kick.

  14. Mandi says:

    Jen,
    This is a great party! The drinks and music are fabulous 🙂
    I have read wanting something more, getting what you want, and wanting what you get. They were great if you haven’t read them yet you should check them out. I started with Wanting Something More and then had to run out and get the other two 🙂

  15. Jennifer Y says:

    Cathy M: Welcome! Hope you get a chance to read Kathy’s fabulous books!

    Mandi: Thanks! I need to read those books…I missed them.

    Guess I need to refill the refreshments, huh? Glad you all are having fun! 😀

    Off to flirt with the band some more…maybe I can bring them out of hiding. 😉

  16. Nathalie says:

    I have never read any of Kathy’s books… I am new to all this paranormal frenzy… but Any Way You Want it sounds good!

  17. Jennifer K. says:

    I love Kathy’s paranormals… in fact I enjoy them more than her contemps (sorry about that). I can’t wait to read this newest one.

  18. Lily says:

    I have read Kathy’s contemps… and I really enjoyed them… I remember Wanting what you Get that I liked.

  19. Rhonda Barnes says:

    Great interview! I put in a friend request on your MySpace.

    Rhonda 🙂

  20. Cherie J says:

    Enjoying these posts. Kathy is on the wishlist for her “:Fangs” series already. They sound like winners.

  21. Sue A. says:

    I’m guilty of having Kathy’s books in my TBR pile. I’m going to dig them out after today’s post.

  22. Kim says:

    I’m sorry to say I haven’t read any of her books (hanging head in shame). I have to work on that. The Young Brothers series sounds really good!

  23. Julie Cohen says:

    I’ve read them before they’ve been published. Lucky lucky me. *smug grin*

    😀

Leave a Reply

