Interview with Donna McAteer

donna_torso_1.gif

Welcome Donna McAteer!  I would like to thank Donna for taking time to answer some questions for readers! 

How did you become a member of Destination Romance?
Being a historical romance author I became fast friends with Catherine Stang, another historical author from New Concepts Publishing.  She had already met Buffi and Dani through a chat they had all done together and decided to team up for promotional strength.  Catherine got us together as a foursome to promote as a group.   

Please tell us about your books and what inspired your stories?
I started reading romance by authors like Julie Garwood, Johanna Lindsey, Jude Deveraux, and a myriad of other historical authors.  I was enamored by anything historical, particularly medieval. That period, more than any other, seems filled with romance with its chivalrous knights, beautiful damsels, and towering castles. I love the regency period and enjoy writing about that time period too.  Yet lately, I have diversified and written a Romantic Suspense and have started a Time- Travel. 

What do you hope readers get out of your books?
I hope they find joy and pleasure from reading my books. I also hope it lets them feel the love and romance I try to weave into each happily-ever-after tale.  I want the women to identify with each heroine in my stories and lust after every hero.   

Describe a typical day in the life of Donna McAteer.
A typical day would depend on if I am a writer that day or a Respiratory Therapist.  On the former, I get up, take my coffee to my computer and create wondrous stories from my imagination. On the latter, I would rise at 5 AM and have a stressful day at a local hospital.  I dream of the day when I can stay home and create my tales all day long. 

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Least favorite?
My favorite part is the freedom of the creation process involved.  I am allowed to dream up and construct an entire story out of my imagination.  The characters and settings can be anything I wish them to be.  My least favorite part is the time constraint on promotion, chats, loops, and emails.  A tremendous amount of time is spent on these things, which are necessary but take away from constructive writing. 

Is there anything you would like to write, but haven’t? For example, any other genre you’d like to try?
As I said before, I’ve written a Romantic Suspense, but haven’t finished the time-travel yet, I’m very excited to do that genre.  I’m very comfortable with Historicals, Romantic Suspense, and Time-Travels, I don’t see myself trying some of the others out there.  If your heart isn’t into a specific genre, it just won’t be that good.  

How long have you been a writer and how many books have you written?
I started writing around 2001, after reading tons of Historicals and deciding to try my hand at my own skill.  I have only five to date, two Regencies, one Medieval, one Romantic Suspense, and the beginning of a Time-Travel.  It’s been difficult being a writer and a Respiratory Therapist too.  Throw in a mom, wife, accountant, housekeeper, gardener, and life gets pretty hectic.   

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?
Don’t give up on your dream.  Perseverance and determination are key to success in this field.  If you have the drive, love, and determination, you will not fail. 

If you were not an author, what would you do?
I have a degree in Art History and Painting; I would probably be a painter again.  My creative side is well satisfied by my writing, so I have no desire to paint at the moment.  Writing romance offers the happiness and satisfaction of escape for me since my day job is loaded with sadness and death.   

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Loyal, sensitive, and loving.   

What is your favorite book of all time?
I would have to say, Gone With the Wind.  That book made a great impression on me and continues to remain so for me.  

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
A picture of my family and a box of my favorite books, along with the books I’ve written. 

What would readers be surprised to learn about you?
I don’t think I have any surprises really, what you see is what you get with me.  I am a hopeless romantic, who has been married for twenty-eight years to the same wonderful man. I adore my son and daughter more than life itself and live to see their achievements in life. 

Are there any upcoming or recent releases you would like to tell us about?
The Romantic Suspense has not yet been published, but the title is Barely Legal, so I’d like folks to watch out for it.   

You can find out more about Donna’s books by visiting her website and her MySpace! 

Thank you so much Donna for the lovely interview.  I really appreciate it!  Best of luck to you and the other ladies of Destination Romance!

One Response to Interview with Donna McAteer

  1. Jennifer K. says:

    I love a good historical. I’m heading over to your website to learn more. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

